Posted in Book Reviews

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

Whoever thought skirts were for women clearly hasn’t seen a hot Scottish man rock a kilt…

804abeabeb44673cee9c9686ed9029ac

Now that I have your attention.. hehe.

Before I actually get into this book I wanted to mention quickly a little bit of a frustration I had when I picked up this book.

I found out after I had bought Outlander it is part of a series. Don’t get me wrong, I love stories that continue on to more adventures and explore further into their worlds. I am also sure it is a great way to hook a reader into buying more of an authors writing if they wrote so well and got the reader so invested into the characters they spend another ten or twenty dollars just to get the second book. But I am finding it a little aggravating lately that every book I pick up has at least two or more to follow.

20151208_183609

There are so many INCREDIBLE classic novels that have had such an amazing impacting story that didn’t need to be dragged on volume after volume. So why are writers in modern literature needing a five set series to be an accomplished writer? Thoughts?

But aside from the empty wallet issue I am having needing to spend all of my money on a complete set of works…

stressed-student-300x200

Outlander is about a couple who are on their anniversary when the leading character Claire gets transported back in time. Separated from her husband and having not the faintest idea of how to get back, Claire finds herself kidnapped, married and conflicted about whether the past she now lives in is reality. How can she abandon the people who have taken her in? What has become of the future her husband and her still have ahead of them? Will she ever get home?

stonehenge-e1441591317167-650x3621

The writing is great. Descriptive but not lacking good dialogue as well as you can tell the author has extensive knowledge on the history and lifestyles of the time period. My only complaint was that the book was too long.

Six hundred and twenty seven pages isn’t necessarily insane. I’ve read longer, like the Game of Thrones series for example that reach above one thousand pages. There is something though about the subject matter that makes it alright in that world versus Diana’s.

When you have over ten main characters and varying plot lines, you undoubtedly have a lot more information to provide and situations and conflicts that need to be described. Each character has their own little story going on and combining those all into one book isn’t going to be a short three hundred page novel.

Something about the book having an overall romance vibe bothered me as it dragged on and on. Halfway through the book I was struggling just to discipline myself enough to read through to the end. I enjoy love stories, but I don’t need extensive knowledge on the couples honey moon phase for fifty plus pages. Even at the beginning I found myself uninterested in where the story was going, but it pulled through.

There are various points where something does happen that really twists the plot and intrigues you to continue reading. As Claire’s reality becomes more and more tangled through out the book you start to wonder if there will ever be resolution. The great way Diana throws her character into deeper and deeper trenches does capture you and I did find myself  wanting to know what more she had planned for Claire’s adventure.

bestofirelandandscotland-hero-77898443

I don’t think I will be reading the rest of the series. I used to make myself for the respect of the author and story, but I’ve now reached this point with a shelf full of to-be-read-books that I think I can allow myself to deny the indulgence of the remaining books in the series.

Of course in our advanced world there is a movie for the book, or a series I believe. I think the series is something I would be very interested in watching. If the directors stayed true to the dramatic happenings and beautiful love story the idea and concept of the story itself would be very entertaining to relive through a television series. I feel like the dismissal of some of the more unimportant areas of the book would make it the perfect amount of intensity and story building. Hopefully I get the chance to watch that, but if you have seen it please let me know if it’s worth investing my time.

ols2_keyart_originalspicker_598x336

I am sad to say this is my first book review leaning to the more negative side. It might just be my fast paced millennial brain that is too impatient to read through a story like this, but I usually find myself very intrigued and willing to involve myself in longer books. I am not quite sure what January’s review will be on, but I will be sure to mix it up. Maybe an old classic? The Picture of Dorian Gray? I suppose you will have to stay tuned to find out.

In the mean time if you do chose to give Outlander a go, I wish you the best on your adventure and I hope you find fascination in the history and magic of Scotland. Diana will not fail in taking you back in time, and I warn you she will most likely have you dying to fall in love with a rough red haired Scott in a kilt.

zap-outlander-season-1-episode-2-castle-leoch-006

Author:

Greetings from your Bohemian Queen! A lover of life, a lover of love, a lover of adventure and above all a lover of experience. Keep up with this blog to share with me the extraordinary journey's that some incredible books have taken me on, get lost in the occasional short story or two and laugh with me at the struggles that are my day to day life as an introvert. New postings are at the end of each month.

Leave a Reply

